Because Experience Matters Contact Us

What Are Hematological Disabilities?

Cutter Hall Karlock, LLC
Jan. 5, 2021

Hematology refers to the study of blood and is one of the angles the Social Security Administration considers when determining disability. These range from severe bone marrow failure to red blood cell disorders.

Under section 7.00, the SSA considers many different illnesses and diseases under this umbrella.

Types of hematological disabilities

These disorders include hemolytic anemias that affect hemoglobin structure like sickle cell disease and hereditary spherocytosis. Whether you have these from birth or acquire them in your life, these diseases risk hospitalization, pulmonary infections and kidney failure.

Other disorders include clotting or bleeding diseases like protein S deficiency and Factor V Leiden. These affect you through excessive blood clotting and may lead to embolisms or uncontrolled bleeding.

Bone marrow disorders often present a lifelong struggle as treatment involves serious transplants.

Proof of hematological disabilities

The SSA requires different amounts of paperwork and tracking to prove each disorder. Working with your doctor, they may need hemoglobin counts and accounts of any hospitalization. Other metrics include tracking how this affects your social functioning or concentration.

Some benefits last for as long as you continue to prove that your disorder disables your lifestyle where others last for a certain amount of time like the 12-month window after a bone marrow transplant.

Once assessed, you may get the help you need. If denied, there are steps available to appeal. The reasons for a denial range from lack of proof to paperwork errors. In these cases, it is important to not give up. An administrative law judge may see your case. The process for a claim appeal may take up to two-and-a-half years or more if your case requires going to federal court.